Some people prefer to travel in their own country when they have some time off. Others think that it is better to take a trip to a foreign country. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons to support your choice.

Most people agree that travelling is a great way to learn about the world. Personally, I believe that visiting a foreign country is much more beneficial than travelling domestically. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, it is much easier to learn about new cultures and develop new skills when we take a trip abroad. When we travel within our own country, we often stay immersed in our own culture. This means that we listen to our own language, eat our favourite foods and talk to people who share our outlook on life. In contrast, when we go to a foreign country we are exposed to new concepts and ideas almost every single day. My own experience demonstrates this concept. Last year I travelled to the Republic of Sokovia, which is in eastern Europe. It was my first time leaving Canada, so I didn’t know what to expect. Happily, I was able to eat the local cuisine every day. Moreover, the only way I could book hotel rooms or call taxi drivers was to use the local language, so I became moderately fluent after only a few weeks. Now I have language skills that might come in handy later in my life. Had I spent that month in Canada I would not have learned anything new. Moreover, international travel requires us to be independent and brave, which can increase our sense of self-worth. Even simple tasks can be challenging when we are in a foreign country and we need to be confident to deal with them. For instance, when I was in Estonia last month I lost my digital camera on the subway. I wasn’t too bothered, but in order to submit a claim for reimbursement to my insurance company I had to file a report with the local police. Had I been in Canada, filing a report would have been a very simple matter. In Estonia, however, it was quite challenging. First I had to locate a police station. After that, I had to learn about the local public transportation system so I could figure out how to get there from my hotel. Finally, I had to contact a translator who could translate the police report into English. With great effort, I was able to do all of those things. I felt quite proud of myself afterwards, as I realized that I possessed amazing problem-solving skills. In conclusion, I feel that it is beneficial to travel to a foreign country. This is because we can learn about a new culture, and it forces us to be independent and self-reliant