Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, such as the army, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views as to whether females are fit to join the army or the police force, as are males. This essay will explore two points of view and clarify my opinion in the following paragraphs. Those who argue that men and women play an equal role in a police department or army may put forth the following argument. There are other skills that the military needs, such as social skills. When negotiating with the enemy or organizing training, women with strong empathy skills can be more capable than men of standing in others’ shoes. In addition, even if not working on the battlefield, other positions are suitable for women, such as nurses and therapists. More than that, with the development of technology, military tasks depend not only on muscular strength but also wisdom and intelligence. Nevertheless, opponents of this way of thinking have their own opinions, which they can also easily justify. The military usually requires a lot of physical effort rather than other aspects, such as drilling and participating in war to defend a country. However, the fact is that women are usually not born with the strength, they do not have the ability to complete challenging tasks of high quality. In addition, the military needs soldiers to make objective decisions, especially under great pressure. By contrast, women are more likely to be emotional than men, who may not view problems critically, thus affecting decision-making. If they are allowed to join the army, they may affect the performance of the entire team. In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, while some physically demanding tasks in the military may not be suitable for women, some other positions that require intelligence and empathy are suitable for women.