Supermarkets should only sell food products from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

The supermarkets are operated on basis of the demand and supply rule. These kinds of business try to attract all kind of customers which help them to expand their business and increase their profit. To satisfy customers ' needs and stay in the market they frequently import food products from overseas. In my view, it is important for shops to bring products from another country to fulfil market demand. In the world of globalization, Today's consumers want a variety of food items which is impossible to gather from local farmers or vendors. Avocado is the best example. Avocado farming is only possible in low-temperature weather but it has worldwide demand. Supermarkets in India have to import Avocados from California or Mexico to sell to Avocodo loving population. They can not find this product locally and huge business opportunities would not be explored. These supermarkets often face challenges in the demand for certain products. If they don't import this kind of product then the price of the food item will be skyrocketed. As a result, Customers have to buy those products at high prices. For instance, Onions have huge demand in India but local farming is not able to fulfil the need. So, every year in summer, Onion prices shoot up due to high use. However, foreign imports would be beneficial to keep prices low and make customers happy. On the other hand, When these stores are importing these food items, they should keep in mind that imports drain the local economy. They should keep a balance between import and local purchases. Local Farmers and vendors should be the first choice after that they should consider foreign imports. This way the local economy will not suffer. To sum up, a Balance between imported and local food items will be the best way to handle customers and the economy.