In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Using driverless vehicles is considered to be a controversial phenomenon that always draws great attention from publicity. While there are some advantages of this kind of vehicle, it seems to have much more apparent disadvantages. This makes me firmly suppose that the disadvantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, driverless vehicles have some advantages which make many people advocate this idea. The first rationale is that using this type of vehicle helps individuals optimize their transportation time. Specifically, people usually need to focus on one activity at a time in order to ensure safety when driving. However, if they use driverless vehicles, they can completely do many other tasks such as reading books and watching films, which is obviously an effective way of using time for people. Furthermore, people can consider this trend of alternative means of transport as an important incentive for the development of new technology. It is evident that when the model of driverless vehicles is widely supported, many companies in the vehicle manufacturing industry will invest more in improving technology and algorithms to create more effective products thanks to their belief in the growth potential of driverless vehicles. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages of this kind of means of transport. First and foremost, driverless vehicles always seem to be over-priced because the process of researching and developing them requires a lot of resources. As a consequence, many people cannot afford and approach this kind of means of transport. Moreover, it will be significantly difficult to know who takes responsibility when driverless vehicles cause accidents. It is obvious that there are still lots of problems in machines and algorithms, which makes them unable to operate at the accuracy rate of 100 per cent. Therefore, this is an absolutely possible risk of appearing accidents with driverless vehicles, which consequences can be extremely terrible.Especially, it seems that this issue has not been tackled yet. This is also the reason why I suppose that the disadvantages of using driverless vehicles completely outweigh their advantages. In conclusion, despite the fact that driverless vehicles have some salient advantages, I still strongly suppose that they have much more disadvantages than advantages because there are still many potential consequences being unable to solve now.