It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is estimated that most countries will soon face the problem of an ageing population. This essay will explain why I believe this is both a negative and a positive trend. To begin with, senior citizens have experienced more failures and successes than young adults, so they are more aware of the factors that contribute to success and failure. If there are more and more older generations in society, young people can learn from their past experiences and avoid making similar mistakes, thus reducing the time spent trying different methods to some extent. Moreover, young people can work more effectively by learning from others, which can boost output as well as the economy. For example, some companies are more likely to hire senior employees, so they can benefit from their successful experience, especially in the medical field. Nevertheless, a high proportion of the ageing population is a huge burden on society and the family. Young people not only need to take care of their nuclear family but also their older family members. Apart from that, they also have to work, which makes it difficult for them to balance everything. For a country, an increasingly ageing population means a decline in the young workforce and a lower proportion of the workforce. The pension of senior citizens is a major financial burden for a country, and older people are more vulnerable to illness than the younger generation. Consequently, with the increase of the older generation, the pressure on the health system will become more severe. In Japan, for example, many elderly Japanese live alone, with no one to take care of them, and some may not even be aware of their family members when they die. In conclusion, based on the above analysis and evidence, an ageing population brings both benefits and disadvantages. All nations must face this problem in the future. Therefore, countries around the world should pay much more attention to this problem and try to find solutions to this trend.