Online currencies have become more common in recent years. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Online transactions have surged more than ever before in the last few years. This is due to the technological advancement and globalisation. In my opinion, it should be considered as a positive development owing to the ease of transferring money and the reduction in money handling cost. Firstly, online transactions are only possible because of the advancement in technology that allows for such means of sending funds. Further, globalisation has resulted in many industries across the world requiring instant payment modes for the products purchased. For example, numerous online shopping platforms have been established in the recent past which require payment to be made instantaneously and hence online. As a result, more and more business to customer organisations have integrated payment platforms such as GooglePay and ApplePay into their business. The transition to making payments online is a positive development as it provides a more convenient option to send cash to others. In addition, the cost associated with handling money is reduced. For instance, if departmental shops accept only paper notes they will need several cashiers to handle the money provided by all the customers. Alternatively, if there are payment kiosks present to handle some customer queue at the departmental shop, the cost associated with a few cashiers can be eliminated. In this manner, online payment options are reducing the cost associated with maintaining resources. In conclusion, the adoption of online payment methods will continue to rise with the progress in technology and globalisation. Consequently, there can be a time in future where one hundered per cent of transactions can occur online. Organisations should be quick to adopt payment changes to remain relevant and ahead of their competition in respective industries.