Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few individuals believe that social media platforms on the internet lead to adverse repercussions on society as well as on the people themselves. I reckon there are a few merits and drawbacks owing to the fact of how an end user is utilizing them. However, in my opinion,there is a huge scope for improvement in order to reap all the benefits. On the one hand, nowadays most people irrespective of their age are addicted to using smart gadgets such as tablets, smartphones, laptops etc., all the time. Consequently, youth learn how to access these platforms and unknowingly get exposed to inappropriate content and companionship unless proper restrictions are put in place by their parents and educational institutions. For example, people in youth are tender and curious to uncover things. While doing so they usually get into trouble as most of these sites do not validate the identity of a person's age that is browsing through the internet. Hence, it is essential to stalk children's activities and avail of the apps that have parental locks to avoid children using these websites. On the other hand, these websites assist us to interact with people from different regions, and cultures and enrich our knowledge by getting exposure to diverse content. Additionally, it also helps to represent solidarity for any issue, event or major cause across the globe and unite people virtually without having the need to be physically present at a specific place. For example, when Covid-19 emerged in 2020, the public across the world connected through these platforms, shared ideas, and caution and also contributed financially to individuals in need wherever there was a necessity. To conclude, social networking sites should be enhanced by their designers to have better identity validation, and remove abusive and obscene content. In addition, it must be an individual responsibility to properly guide their children to refrain from inappropriate content.