It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Life has trade-offs in every aspect, and any risky move can lead to positive or negative consequences. Although taking risks seems to be disadvantageous initially, feats that risk-takers can gain in the long run are far more worth considering. This disquisition will provide the intellection on why my evaluation leans toward the advantages. Being risky can lead to several losses. There is a reason why it is called risk, as whether it is going on road trips or investing in business opportunities, there are potential dangers during the path. Extreme sports are great examples; in exchange for the exceptional experience, sports players, even professional athletes, may face a series of physical damages if there is any minor mistake causing accidents. The same principle can be applied in business. The profit size grows exponentially with the chance of failure, which requires investors to gamble. Any wrong move may lead to devastating consequences, including debts and bankruptcy. Despite the aforementioned, the positive offers from taking risks are development and exorbitant profits. In terms of individual aspects, one’s journey is more important than the destination. Stepping out of the comfort zone exposes one to a vaster world. Even if it can be a failure, it still contributes significantly to one’s long-term development through new experiences and knowledge gained in the process. Additionally, viewing from a business perspective, most profitable opportunities in life require a certain level of trading off; hence, if one desires to hit it big, it would be best to be adventurous. This situation is clearly reflected among technology companies in Silicon Valley. Investors pour millions of dollars into startups with a chance of existing with empty hands; however, if these startups’ ideas flourish, the return on investment (ROI) can be unimaginable. The list of case studies includes big names such as Space X, Facebook and Youtube. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the downside of taking risks can be scary and catastrophic; I believe the advantages are more prominent as risks are the driver of development and also hold life-changing opportunities.