Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the ability of youngsters’ literacy is deteriorated because of the emergence of communication devices such as mobile phones and computers. I partially agree with this claim because these machines can deprive the time spent by reading and writing from adolescents. On the one hand, these gadgets benefits to young people’s literacy in view of providing the materials, such as electronic novels, blogs and SNS platforms, which are helpful for gaining the abilities of reading and writing. Nowadays, many eminent professors or business persons publicise their knowledge or thinking on their web sites or SNS, like Facebook and Instagram. Youth can be exposed to such a prominent literature more easily than the before of widespread of these devices. It would enhance and stimulate younger’s writing and reading skills. On the other hand, excessive utility of computers and cell phones have a possibility to alter teenagers addictions to these materials. An increasing number of adolescents are spending their time on surfing the internet, particularly unproductive activities, such as watching videos and pictures, and playing games without writing or reading activities. It means that these phones and laptops might the possibility to deteriorate younger’s academic abilities as a result. In Japan, for instance, teenagers’ cognitive abilities, including literacy has been inferior than the counterparts of a decade ago. In conclusion, admittedly these devices might provide access to a wide variety of writing materials and give the environment to write something, they are harmful for youngster’s literacy considering its possibility of depriving the chance of writing or reading.