Some people think that schools should teach students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities study together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ on whether students should be taught based on their academic performance or study with other classmates with mixed abilities at school. Although there are certain benefits provided by the former, I believe that they are far eclipsed by the more important ones of the latter. Admittedly, that learners should study in certain classes equivalent to their abilities yields several advantages. One of them is that these students can be content with this pace, as they hardly encounter challenges in following the teacher's syllabi. As a result, they may have a strong motivation to follow lessons in such settings. In addition, educators can develop certain teaching methods and classroom activities according to students’ levels of proficiency since it can be less time-consuming when a teacher determines how they should plan for each class at school. However, children should not be separated and forced to participate in ability-oriented classrooms. This is because they, especially fast pupils, may be gradually satisfied with their own pace along with others within an environment, which causes them to become bored later on. In addition, it can be difficult to possess a perfect ability measurement serving placement tests, many pupils hence may enter a class which does not match their skills. Therefore, students must get involved in a mixed-ability classroom in which better learners can support less proficient ones, and the latter may be motivated to catch up with the former. In English classes, for example, weak children can be stimulated to imitate those who have better pronunciation in order to enhance this language area. As a result, learners can have more opportunities and reasons to not only learn from their peers but also have the inspiration to have better academic performances. In conclusion, despite some merits of ability-based classes such as students’ satisfaction and instructors’ preparation, such an environment can have some drawbacks related to pupils' boredom as well as risks of measurements. For this reason, I believe that children should attend classes where they can cooperate with others who have distinct levels.