Some people believe that parents should choose the degree or the major for their child to study at university. Others feel that children should be able to choose their own degree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by many that fosters ought to decide on the major of their dependents in tertiary education. However, others discern that it is the choice of minors with no parental intrusion. Although I firmly believe that parents should intervene, I also believe that students' choices ought not to be ignored since they are the ones who would shoulder the responsibility of their choices. On the one hand, one reason why custodians should decide on the suitable course for their juniors relates to guaranteeing profitable jobs. As parents have a well-rounded comprehension of high-demand programs, they will motivate their juveniles by explaining how promising these fields are in the after-graduation life such as the accessibility and feasibility of job offers and enormous salaries. Furthermore, not only would such an approach assist undergraduates, but also this would pour into the benefit of society as a whole owing to the fact that low unemployment rates along with low poverty rates would be actualized. On the other hand, I personally believe that university academics ought to select their own field of study in order to decrease students' drop-out. If undergraduates are given the utmost freedom to choose their favourable majors, they would choose according to their fields of interest and passion. For instance, children who are sharpwitted in logical and analytical sciences are better enrolled on engineering programs. Moreover, this would yield university students who try to devote much time and effort to their studies and would have passion for what they learn. Thus, nations would secure highly-skilled professionals in various domains,especially high-technology companies. In conclusion, despite the merits of parental supervision over their juniors' choices, I am still convinced that young learners have to opt for the domain that perfectly suits their abilities and tendencies.