Most people around the world use social media every day to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantage?

With the virtual world connecting people more than ever, it becomes hard to notice the disadvantages of living in it. However, The virtual world is illusory and creates the impression of protection and stability, but only real- world interaction can give us true peace and confidence. Admittedly, social networking reduces distances. At the moment, we can communicate in real-time with people thousands of kilometres away, creating connections and friendships. In addition, the news is more at our disposal and we can be up to date with any event whenever we want, such as the latest scientific inventions, the most popular commodities or the recent eye-catching lawsuits. However, when living in a virtual world, we are actually creating an artificial environment that we confuse with the real one. First of all, in this new world of virtual communications, we still express ourselves in real- world ways that don’t always work in this special context. Examples can be seen when we sent an email or a text meaning one thing but the recipient took it in a completely different way. This is because online interaction lacks the emotions conveyed by our happy smiles, concerning looks or the tender touch of our hand. Secondly, with the internet turning into an impressive power, many people have started to utilize it as a real source of income, promoting all kinds of fake news in exchange for earnings and increasing the energy consumed in filtering the noise. What’s worse, content-based algorithms are creating a ‘bubble’ where individuals got fed more of the same thing based on past searches or comments. Consequently, by filtering out what the algorithms believe to be unattractive to their users, the social media platforms are in fact narrowing what the users could know. In conclusion, it seems that social media is opening lots of doors for its users. However, they are losing the insights, serendipity and surprises that early web users experienced before algorithms.