Currently, there is a trend toward alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst, they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Use examples and explanations to support your opinion.

The use of traditional medicines has been on the increase in recent times. However, these forms of drugs may not work well and are sometimes harmful to our bodies. This essay agrees with this statement because not only does little or no research go into the formulation of local medicines, but also, these preparations do not treat specific illnesses. To begin with, a single alternative medicine may be said to cure a wide range of diseases. This is because these formulations are not taken through the necessary processes to extract the exact active ingredient for a specific malady. Hence, an individual may not be cured when he takes such medication. I once took a traditional drug when I was diagnosed with malaria. This preparation was also marketed as being effective against fever and headache. On completing it, the fever and headaches I experienced disappeared and I felt well for a while, but they re-surfaced after a few days. I found out I still had the parasites in my blood when I got tested a second time. Consequently, I was not cured after swallowing the pills. In addition, alternate forms of medicines have not been properly researched; especially to determine their side effects and contra-indications. In certain parts of the world, herbalists, for example, wash the leaves of medicinal plants and offer them to patients to chew. These leaves have not been scientifically tested to determine their negative effects. Subsequently, a lot of these patients end up with dangerous outcomes. For instance, research has concluded that the pawpaw leaf, which is popular for treating migraine in most developing countries, is the leading cause of kidney disease in sub-Saharan Africa. Thus, the lack of research can lead to an increase in the number of people experiencing the toxic effects of unorthodox drugs. In conclusion, other forms of drugs may be less effective and harmful to our bodies despite a general increase in their use. I agree with this statement because there is a lack of investigations into them. Secondly, their positive effects are non-specific.