In many countries, the average life expectancy has been increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and for society as a whole? Suggest some solutions.

In the modern society, technological advances have resulted in an increase in average life expectancy but, this phenomenon has detrimental effects on the whole. I believe that governments could take measures to alleviate the problems related to the increased average life expectancy. The major problem is that extended life expectancy is likely to be stressful and damaging for both individuals and society. Firstly, many younger people should support and nurse the elderly for a long time, which means the more the average life expectancy dramatically increases, the more youth have a burden to take care of the old, and they also would pay more money for facilities such as hospital and nursing home. Another problem is that the labor population would sharply reduce, and a number of companies and factories would lack workers who are engaged in tough and complex works. It is highly likely to hinder economic development. Consequently, if the average life expectancy has significantly increased, it makes people suffer from a variety of drawbacks we can predict. There is almost certainly no one solution to solve these problems given the complexity of their causes. However, one of the options has to be that above of all, the government can provide financial support to the young people taking care of their old family members by making a budget relating to caring for the elder and the reason is that the youth can reduce the burden to spend a huge deal of money on supporting the old people. A further alternative to mitigate this problem is that relevant authorities can implement policies and initiatives to extend the number of children population. A good example to illustrate the importance of this point would be that many countries already pay for childbirth grants for new couples to encourage them to have and raise children. In conclusion, while there are complicated issues with the increased average life expectancy, various measures can be taken into consideration to solve the problems.