In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some cultures mould children to believe that hard work is the crucial key to achieving their goals successfully. There is certainly evidence suggesting that such a mindset may be beneficial in the cognitive and intellectual development of a child however, the presence of drawbacks can not be ignored. First of all, children are easily malleable during their childhood so shaping them into a positive mindset will eventually build their confidence. Furthermore, as these kids are equipped to face challenges and be goal-oriented, they will grow to become highly functioning individuals who outperform average students. For instance, South Asian parents encourage their offspring to study harder since kindergarten and as a result, most of them do exceptionally well in their studies. Due to this, more than half of the world's changing personalities hail from the South Asian region. However, despite the benefits, there are some concerning drawbacks that have come to attention. Firstly, setting up unrealistic targets will pressurize the child and as a result, they will end up getting depression and anxiety at a small age. Their goals and targets should be personalized according to their capacity and passion. As an example, it will be demotivating if a kid with an artistic mind is forced to be hardworking on a subject that they strongly despise. This will create unwanted tension which causes a negative impact on the child. In conclusion, encouraging children to be hardworking individuals is a common practice in most cultures around the world however, many should acknowledge that it is important to understand the benefits and drawbacks in order to reform better adults to society.