At present, the media affect people's life significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

Digital media has a significant impact on people's lives in today's society. The main influence is that it gives such alarming standards on people to compare themselves to influencers on social media, and it has brought deteriorated mental health among individuals as a negative development. In recent years, most young people are active on their social media to share their private lives, including celebrities and influencers. The trend of having their glamorous lifestyles exposed online has been seen to be extremely unrealistic for others to see. This includes the so-called 'perfect' images and bodies shown in front of the lens, which creates a beauty standard among people. As a consequence, numerous teenagers ended up normalising this standard and begin to compare themselves with the models they follow. This affects their confidence in their natural appearance, which leads to unhealthy self-labelling. For instance, teenagers as young as fourteen years old receive plastic surgery supported by their parents to be seen as confident with their presence, although it is expensive and there is no guarantee it will be successful. In terms of development, I believe this to be a negative one as overconsumption can cause mental health issues in the long run. Although some content on the internet can be seen as useful, some of them can lead the young generation, especially ladies, to only care about their look instead of their personality. Besides, self-comparison with digital photos and videos can then result in depression when it is overthought. On top of that, when it comes to the cyber community, one can share hate comments towards others which leads to cyberbullying. For this reason, some teenagers can even attempt suicide. For example, recent research in Korea illustrated that self-perception about body size among high schoolers brought them to hesitation that they are average size, which causes them to depressed. In conclusion, the drastic impact that digital media brings to modern lives provides an unauthentic measurement of today's beauty. It is an extremely negative development with mental health at its stake.