•Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

The progress of a nation largely depends on its improvement in the education sphere. Whereas illiteracy is one of the curses of modern society and concurrently, continues to be a serious matter of concern across geography. Though the extent of this educational darkness varies across nations, it has some severe damaging effects on the community. In my essay, I shall discuss the causes of illiteracy in today's world and subsequently, elucidate the adverse effects of an uneducated race on societal goals. First and foremost, the main cause of this unenlightenment stems from poverty. It is acutely poor nations,which are lacking in the sphere of literacy. Poverty compels people, to search for food and employment as primary goals of survival, from a very basic age, which deprives them of the scope of learning. In Pakistan, for instance, rampant child labour owing to poverty is a serious impediment to the progress of education. Secondly, social taboos and caste complications can also be stated as one of the reasons. To exemplify,in some societies, female education is discouraged on religious grounds, as in Afghanistan. Thirdly, one of the causes can too be found in the lack of awareness in regard to the importance of education. To cite an example, numerous studies conducted worldwide reflect a directly proportional relationship between the poor and staying illiterate. To sum up we can cite the above reasons as the main causes for the lack of educational development. As there is a close relationship between development and literacy it is, uneducated countries are devoid of learned manpower who can fuel growth. To exemplify, the stupendous Indian growth story owes its root to the increase of education since independence which has led to the availability of educated resources. Moreover, in the present era of technology, societies which are backward in learning, have not yet received the fruits of scientific progress. For example, Japan, with a ninety-nine per cent literacy rate is one of the most advanced societies and is stark in comparison with African communities that are technologically backward and have a small population going to schools. Hence, we can see the effects of a low literacy rate on the economic expansion of a nation are intense. Thus, we can see that poverty and fundamentalism within society play a major role in promoting education amongst the masses. By encouraging learning, the fruits of technological and economic growth will be enjoyed by its people, while its society will be more progressive and future-focused.