Some people argue that we should do research into their family history. Others, agree with the view that we should focus on the present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over whether it is crucial to do research into the family background or emphasizing the present and the future is of significance. While each has its own merits, I would contend that it is optimal to combine both mentioned factors. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is vital to investigate family trees that could enhance people’s knowledge of their past culture. To be specific, knowing about traditional habits allows people to have a good understanding of their own identity and preserve it through all generations. For example, on the Tet holiday in Vietnam, everyone will pay respect to their own ancestors by offering incense on the first day of the Lunar new year, which is a cultural tradition that Vietnamese people have followed for a long period of time. Hence, the study of history plays a paramount important part in making an all-rounded community by providing everyone with a great understanding of their culture. While the importance of studying the history of the family is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if focusing on the younger generations is ignored. To be particular, the offspring is the one that will follow and represent ancestors’ footsteps in the future. For instance, one of the most famous families in Thailand has owned various lucrative businesses and estates for more than 50 years. In fact, they relentlessly continue the plans and become more and more wealthy since the working styles of their ancestors are adapted and imitated by the youth. Hence, concentrating on the younger generations is also put priority in the development of the family's career. To sum up, although looking back to family history acts as a paramount significant role in providing cultural tradition for everyone, laying stress on the young is of the essence in carrying the future career of a family.