Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In modern times, there is a notion that society tends to divert from tradition and therefore disregard the original essence of religious events and festivities. However, in my personal view, I consider two types of individuals as regards this matter. One viewpoint holds that communities actually wish to entertain themselves only, but the opposite mindset is more ceremonial, and it is solemnly oriented to theological typicalities and spirituality. In the ensuing paragraphs, this essay will explore both life standards. For a growing majority of the population calendar bank holidays serve the purpose of amusement. To illustrate this, any form of religious and folklore instance in the year gives the opportunity for joyous gatherings such as shopping sprees and large feasts. For example, Christmas is a highly regarded holiday season and even though it is religiously significant, a serious number of citizens prefer to spend this time of year consuming and having fun. The same, almost, applies to different sects in the western world. On the other hand, a devoted part of the laity, namely spiritual people, observe the rules of their religion with utmost sincerity and punctuality. While others purchase goods, for instance, they abstain from such exaggerated consumerism habits and opt for moderation. Those people would go to churches, mosques or synagogues and other such places of worship to practice holy processes. Nevertheless, that does not necessarily mean that the followers of a religion do not actually enjoy themselves. It is, as well, a way of escaping from worries, socialising, and feeling relaxed and serene, too. Because these activities have to do with communication, people get positive feedback. To sum up, the public definitely feels happiness and joy during seasonal holidays and either through dining and partying or attending ceremonies pertaining to religious tenets.