Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Although some people believe that students at university should study anything that interests them, others think that they should only study the subjects that will have importance in their future. I believe that students should be allowed to study what appeals to them because they would not feel like it is a chore, while studying to get a degree can safeguard their future. On the one hand, students who study what they like would feel enthusiastic and would put more effort on it. Therefore, they would improve in that field of study and excel in it. For example, Ryan Reynalds pursued his passion for acting, despite being in an engineering university. If he did not learn the art of acting, he would not be one of the most talented actors today. Therefore, students should learn what they love. On the other hand, learning subjects that are necessary for the future will guarantee a degree and be useful to place jobs in the future. Most of the companies that employ workers require a degree to get jobs. Getting a degree by putting effort in the necessary subjects will secure job placements, as most of the companies employ workers with a degree. For instance, highly skilled professionals, such as doctors put hours on end to become doctors. In conclusion, although focusing solely on university subjects can be useful in getting into the workforce, I firmly believe that students will be putting effort on subjects they like without finding it hard and eventually excel in it.