Some people believe that watching TV is bad for children, while others claim it has positive effects for children as they grow up. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Watching television has become extremely popular among children in recent years. While some think TV has detrimental effects on children, others say TV is useful for kids because it provides educational value and can be a source of entertainment. I personally agree with the latter point of view. The opponents of TV allowance for kids claim that TV is a bad influence on kids. There are health concerns associated with TV, for example. According to recent studies, too much screen time can lead to health problems, such as obesity, eyesight impairment and mental instability, which, in turn, might result in poor academic performance at school. Also, it is true that TV addiction among children, particularly related to cartoons and TV shows can be a huge distraction. This is because excessive use of TV can take away from reading, studying, learning skills and exercise, all of which are vital for child development. From this perspective, TV is seen as nothing but a waste of time. On the other hand, TV can come in handy for children in many ways. First, there are numerous educational TV programs that can help children enhance their knowledge and skills. Take the example of National Geographic, which focuses on science. Other than that, news, current events and historical programming can help make kids aware of their cultures and people. On top of that, Television can be watched for pleasure purposes by kids. Since in many,households both parents work full time, their children are highly likely to grow bored easily, and a possible solution for this problem is definitely TV. Therefore, not only do children learn new things through TV, but also they can entertain themselves by watching TV thanks to interesting content like cartoons and comedy TV shows. In conclusion, people have different views on the usage of Television by kids. However, I believe that watching TV has more benefits than drawbacks for children.