Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for the tourists who visit such places?

In this contemporary era, the majority of tourists are attempting to explore locations with extreme conditions, such as hot deserts and freezing-cold mountains. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits associated with this trend extensively in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence, the key advantages are recognition and survival limit realization. To explain, when visitors travel to an area with non-survival habitat, they set an example in front of the normal public and receive an award for setting up a survival record. Furthermore, travelling to these places helps them in understanding their survival limit, as they have been through the toughest situation which not only helps them in understanding their limitations but also their extreme limit. For example, many explorers in their interviews claimed that spending time in extreme conditions made them realize their potential and come out of their comfort zone. Hence, the aforementioned example clearly elucidates the good side of exploring such habitats. Moving ahead towards the disadvantages, the major drawback is deaths caused by such experiences and unfavourable motivation to the human race. To expound, when youth watches explorers visiting such places, it implicitly motivates the young blood to try it in a fun way, which sometimes has very deadly consequences such as death or permanent disability. As, not every human body is strong enough for such hostile conditions, resulting which many people dying due to the tough environmental conditions. For instance, as per research by a renowned organization, it has been claimed that approximately 2 out of every 10 people are unable to survive these harsh climatic conditions and many of them get permanent or temporary disabilities. Thus, the above-mentioned cons substantiate why such travel is detrimental in nature. To conclude, although the benefits such as fame and survival limit are encouraging yet the drawbacks like deadly experiences and negative motivation cannot be ignored. In my perspective, locations with extreme climatic conditions should be restricted to exploration without a properly trained guide who can help the tourist to cope with the abrupt situations.