Some People believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while other believe that there are alternative way to decrease crime. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Crime is a pervasive problem in most cities around the world and this is due to loopholes in the law and order system. Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease the crime rate while others believe that there are alternatives to reduce malfeasance. In this essay, I will examine both views. On the one hand, keeping criminals behind the bars will help to cut down their interaction with the world. This is important because they tend to commit second murder or do any illegal activities, so it is better to keep them in detention for a longer period. This will not only help to reduce the crime rate but will also make them realise their mistakes. After coming out of prison they can start a fresh life. On other hand, the alternative way to decrease lawlessness is to force criminals to do community service. This will decrease jail time while keeping an offender busy with various activities like cleaning public parks or roads. If the offender shows good behaviour then the law and order system can decide to reduce their sentence time. People in confinement tend to get involved in fights which can be risky for the inmates as well as for the guards working in the prison. Community service will help the prisoners mentally and physically and it would also help them to calm down. This can also serve as a stable source of income for the inmates. Community employment can help with the emotional development of prisoners and it can make them feel as if they are part of society. In conclusion, although in some cases longer jail time is the only way, if we want to heal the criminal permanently, keeping them occupied in social work is a better option.