The demand for food is increasing worldwide. Why has it happened? What measures could the international community take to improve the situation?

There is no doubt that food consumption has increased and continues to Increase. Not only the financial growth of the majority but also the industrialization of the food industry is responsible for it. However, collaboration across all demographics can solve such a complex issue with ease. First and foremost, an increase in disposable income is often a contributing factor to an increase in food demand. When the spending power of a person increases, he tends to spend more on the luxuries like having food at a restaurant, and food wastage at the restaurant is common. However, no democratic country around the globe wants to restrict GDP or stop people from eating at restaurants, but we can promote the culture of a single person serving. The significant reason for food wastage at restaurants is the generous serving size. If we can regulate the size of servings, we might be able to tackle food wastage, so the demand. Moreover, the industrialization of the food industry can be an underlying reason for increased food demand. Like any industry, this industry also looking for widening its profits by marketing or many other tactics to increase the demand for its product, which is food. Nevertheless, if we can impose heavy taxes on packaged food across the world, this issue can be mitigated. The taxes on packaged food, which is a luxury to have, will make it expensive, and restrict consumption. In conclusion, although an increase in purchase power and industrialization of the food industry is the contributing factor to increasing food demand, it can be solved through collaborative action like limiting the serving size at a restaurant and taxing heavily the food industry.