Many companies sponsor sports to advertise their products or service. What advantages and disadvantages does this bring for the teams and individuals that these companies sponsor?

There is a growing expansion of economic activities into various fields in modern society. In fact, this strengthens the relationship between companies and sports athletes more than ever before. It is increasingly common that many companies to sponsor professional sports players. I examine both advantages and disadvantages that are brought to the individuals and teams by this modern style of advertisement. On one hand, it is undeniable that sports athletes sponsored by organizations can gain financial benefits. First, under a certain contract that companies have promised to provide sufficient monetary support, it is helpful for the players to participate in a huge championship that usually costs above their budget. Secondly, other costs such as travelling, accommodation, and training are also covered by companies while players go to different places on a frequent basis. As a result, such financial backup encourages them to concentrate on the important games and leave more outstanding performances. On the other hand, there are some negative consequences that this sponsorship has on sports athletes. Through the contract between companies and players, they are expected to act within a certain brand image. In other words, they should pay careful attention not to contradict the fixed image of the companies. Ignoring the image may lead to sudden termination of the contract and even charges of incredible amounts of financial penalties on some occasions. For example, Osaka Naomi, a famous tennis player in Japan, was charged with 3 million yen for demonstrating violent behaviour in the game. Thus, the intense pressures silently imposed by the company become a psychological burden to many professional athletes. In conclusion, sports athletes gain great advantages from a financial perspective. However, many athletes are overwhelmed by the huge pressure imposed by corporations to limit their acts.