Today, many people spend less and less time at their home. What’s the reason for it? What are the effects of this trend on individuals and society?

In these modern times, people spending time at home is becoming rare. In my opinion, I believe that the reason is due to work-related stress. Thus, they would spend their rest days and holidays relaxing and unwinding. However, this would bring negative effects like additional expenses and weakened family ties. First of all, the most discernible aspect is the high demand for work. This is mostly true for young working professionals nowadays, who are feeling burnout from their workloads. Because of this, these individuals would rather spend their weekends off or holidays to relieve their stress from work. That being said, high expenses would result due to the unplanned and additional excursions. Planning a recreational activity requires money for transportation, and food to name a few. This would just be an added expense that would require a budget. Additionally, a point worth considering is the effect of weakening family ties. Spending time at home gives the opportunity for family members to communicate. An optimal example of this is the situation of working parents. Because working parents need to be working to sustain their financial stability, they would often come home late and thus would not be able to spend time with their children. This would result in children becoming distant from their parents and parents would not know how their child is doing for example in school. In conclusion, in my opinion, I believe that work-related stress is the factor why society is spending less and less time at home. There may be additional contributing factors, but whatever the reasons, they will result in a negative effect on the individual.