In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

There is an opinion asserting that youngsters should be inspired to have a one-year gap before attending university to experience either career or travel. While it can be detrimental in some cases, I would argue that there are more benefits to acquiring social and professional skills. The main disadvantage of delaying university is that students are likely to be away from academic courses and materials during the respective gap. In fact, if they forget a few lessons, they may not be adequately prepared for the following university courses, which can require a scientific background. Ergo, they may lose their inspiration to pursue their educational life entirely. For example, studies suggested that numerous Vietnamese students who decided to delay their university education have rarely persisted in studying a field. Moreover, since travelling can require a great deal of money, and high school students may land in less-paid occupations, families may have to support them financially, which can lead to extra costs for parents. Consequently, these options are less likely to be desirable for students as well as family members. Notwithstanding, this option is confronted with several benefits. Initially, because, in travelling, students are associated with numerous individuals with different personalities, students have an opportunity to nurture their social relationship skills, followed by higher levels of self-confidence. Furthermore, having engaged in an occupation, they can easily assess different aspects of a profession, especially the employability future, leading to choose more correctly their field of study. For example, a survey in Japan indicates students working in careers related to fixing and maintaining computers have been educated in IT engineering at university. Ultimately, as it is undeniable that both travel and work include a variety of difficulties, students are obliged to handle situations, thus converting to a more independent and reliable person both personally and professionally. In conclusion, although some drawbacks may be recognized with a delay before a higher stage of education, it is highly beneficial to consider positive personal and professional characteristics.