In some countries many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In some nations, the youth opt for having a gap year before entering university. As far as I am concerned, I feel like there are one main advantage and one major disadvantage. The main advantage of having a gap year is that teenagers are able to find out what they desperately want to do in the future. Most of the youth in the world do not have opportunities to work or travel for such a long time so as to experience the real world and check decisions which are made at a young age. Take, Taiwan, for example. Score in the college entrance exam accounts for an overwhelming proportion of the reason why teenagers choose departments. Nevertheless, after entering college, students usually find out that they are not interested in what they learn and then drop out of school. Consequently,it is important for youngsters to have a gap year and experience the world in order to find out what they want. However, the disadvantage of having a gap is that people might not be able to follow up on their peers' steps. While those who do not decide to have a gap year are working hard on their study, others who are travelling around may not have academic courses and deteriorate their studying ability. For instance,after long holidays, people have to struggle to use to the feeling of working and studying, not to mention, after relaxing for a year, they cannot study as well as those who have already studied for a year due to the fact that it is hard for them to have a sense of study. To sum up, personally,I believe that having a gap can help teenagers to find what they intend to do in the future. However, it might let the youth to lose the ability to study and cannot compete with their peers.