Are domestic movies and TV shows more interesting or foreign movies and TV shows?

First, I strongly believe that Japanese films are personally more entertaining because of my language barrier. In other words, as my first and mother tongue languages are both Japanese, watching local movies does not require a lot of effort. Although foreign movies include subtitles generated by professional translators, understanding the exact messages and meanings are challenging. In addition, even if I were able to acknowledge what some characters’ lines signify, I am the type of individual who favors not wasting my brain energy while watching movies because seeing a movie is part of entertainment, not for studies. Secondly, due to the development of film industries in Japan, there are numerous films that are enjoyable to watch. Advancement in microphones, cameras and innovation in CGs have made the Japanese films admired by various audiences including worldwide known foreign film production companies. For instance, animations, known as “anime” are prominent all over the world because according to foreign audiences, animations look realistic and three dimensional. What is more, Japan puts a lot of money on audio productions such as themed songs and sound effects. Thus, I insist that Japanese films are better for entertainment. Last but not least, I think Japanese films bring more joy because of cultural differences. Films produced in Japan are centralized on intimacy and depth. On the contrary, ones originating in foreign countries seem overeating and shallow. I suppose that to some extent, whether the audience have fun watching movies or not depends on watchers’ past life experiences and philosophies. Furthermore, since I am not familiar with the culture in the foreign movies, there are some scenes and jokes where I lose track of. In conclusion, I personally believe that national works are more gratifying compared to international ones. This is because of my language barrier, cultural difference, and advancement in technology in Japan.