Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that it is beneficial for teenagers to serve the community by doing unpaid work. Admittedly, I disagree that being a volunteer can help both the individual and people grow and these are my reasons. Firstly, I believe that the youth of today’s modern age is already given many challenges since they were in primary school in order to survive the digital transformation. Lack of focus on either the school subject or soft skills development can become a drawback since there are many changes in the needs of their future. For example, some students that cannot access the internet and do not have the privilege to use technology in the form of expanding their knowledge can be left behind. Therefore, it is more valuable for teenagers to dedicate their time to achieving the standard or even their goals. Secondly, even when those adolescents are interested in becoming volunteers in their neighbourhood, it is definitely allowed as long as they are not forced and obliged to do it. The school can make a service project where their students can propose their ideas which can be advantageous to the surroundings. For example, the students can help the poor communities around the tourist area to speak international languages. So basically, the service project is done based on what the communities most need and can be provided by the youth. In conclusion, these teenagers should be given choices and freedom in order to become more successful and independent afterwards. The communities will grow together when the young people are also qualified.