COMPUTERS ARE OFTEN ARGUED TO BE THE MOST IMPORTANT INVENTION OF THE LAST HUNDRED YEARS.

Although I firmly believe that the creation of computers was a significant starting point for the advancement of technology that we can see nowadays. The finding of penicillin allowed the invention of some antibiotics such as amoxicillin, which helped the treatment of a variety of bacterial diseases. Due to this creation, the morbidity rate decreased, hence allowing life expectancy to rise.In this context, it could be argued that the most important encounter in the last hundred years was penicillin. Furthermore, the computer made possible improvements in the entertainment industry such as through the invention of online games, youtube and Netflix Notwithstanding, this device also brought benefits to the healthcare system, for example,during the COVID-19 pandemic telemedicine was only possible due to computers. In this context, this technological tool helped the invention of another valuable apparatus which was artificial intelligence, that in the medical field is currently used to analyse the health data from the patient which helps the healthcare professionals in the diagnosis. On the other hand, the discovery of penicillin was revolutionary, it allowed the creation of a variety of antibiotics. For instance, in the Second World War the substance was used to treat soldiers' open wounds. Additionally, due to the possibility of treatment of a wilder range of diseases due to this finding life expectancy was higher because people were not dying anymore due to those types of infections, such as meningitis, pneumonia, gonorrhoea and rheumatic fever. In conclusion, the production of the computer was a historical mark in human history. However, the antibiotics outcome the boons of the computer.