COMPUTERS ARE OFTEN ARGUED TO BE THE MOST IMPORTANT INVENTION OF THE LAST HUNDRED YEARS. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although I firmly believe that the production of computers was a significant starting point for the advancement of technology that we can see nowadays. However, the finding of penicillin allowed the invention of some antibiotics such as amoxicillin, which helped the treatment of a variety of bacterial diseases. Because of this formulation, the morbidity rate decreased, hence allowing life expectancy to rise.In this context, it could be argued that the most important encounter in the last hundred years was penicillin. Furthermore, the computer made possible improvements in the entertainment industry such as through the innovation of online games, youtube and Netflix. Notwithstanding, this device also brought benefits to the healthcare system, for example,during the COVID-19 pandemic telemedicine was only possible due to computers. In this context, the computer led to the creation of artificial intelligence. These technological apparatuses analyse the health data from the patient which helps the healthcare professionals with the diagnosis. On the other hand, the discovery of penicillin was revolutionary, it allowed the creation of a variety of antibiotics. For instance, in the Second World War, the substance was used to treat soldiers' open wounds. Additionally, due to the possibility of treatment for a wider range of diseases, hence life expectancy rose. It made it possible the treatment a variety of infections, such as meningitis, pneumonia, gonorrhoea and rheumatic fever. In conclusion, the production of the computer was a historical mark in human history. Nevertheless, the antibiotics boons are far too valuable to not classify them as the most important invention in the last hundred years.