Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertising is considered to be always an attractive topic that draws great attention from publicity, especially from people working in the business. While many people argue that advertising is nowadays so common that people want to ignore, I firmly believe that there are still many successful advertisements that completely convince people to buy products. On the one hand, advocates of the view that advertising is becoming less attractive have some rational reasons. First and foremost, it is apparent that there are some companies only using basic advertising templates without any creativity, which obviously leads to normal and ineffective campaigns. Moreover, people nowadays are said to receive abundant kinds of information, which makes them reluctant to acquire more messages from advertisements. However, the situations above seem to appear in a small number of companies, and it is reasonable to believe that there can be a variety of solutions to tackle these situations. This is the main reason why I do not support that advertising no longer attracts attention. On the other hand, there is a combination of rationales for why people can believe that advertising is still convincing and successful in persuading customers to make purchases. Specifically, in tandem with the rapid increase in the competitiveness rate in the market, more and more advertisers are now aware of the importance of marketing and decide to invest in researching target audiences’ insights and developing meaningful advertising campaigns. This results in a range of impressive campaigns which seems to be really successful in convincing individuals to buy things. Furthermore, thanks to the development of digital marketing, marketers have a lot of effective tools to leverage their campaigns’ outcomes. Based on the aforementioned reasons, I do significantly agree with the view that advertising is still important when communicating with customers. In conclusion, while some people have reasons to believe that advertisements seem to be less effective, the advocates of the opposite view are considered to have stronger rationales. Therefore, based on the analysis above, I do totally support the latter.