Some parents believe that extra private lessons outside school hours, where students work alone with a teacher, can help them do better at school. Others disagree. What are the advantages and disadvantages of private tuition? And give your own opinion.

As the importance of education rises, it is widely argued among parents whether extra private lessons with a teacher after school can increase students ' performance or not. In my opinion, the benefits of personal tuition outweigh its drawbacks and I will be discussing my view in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, there are numerous advantages that it offers. First and foremost, by enrolling in private classes, students gain interesting knowledge that is not included in the school curriculum. What's more, they can focus on certain subjects that they are weak at. For example, if students have any difficulties, they can simply ask the tutor directly and he will provide them with a solution to their academic problems. Most importantly, the reason why many juveniles take up one-on-one lessons is that their studying environment is much better compared to that at school since most tutors are well-qualified when it comes to their teaching ability. On the other hand, we should not overlook its disadvantages. Having to attend additional lessons after a tiring day of studying can lead to fatigue and stress. Moreover, students will be inundated with homework both at school and in other classes. To make matters worse, self-study is a mandatory factor for this type of class. In other words, if students are not self-disciplined enough and unable to learn by themselves, all the supplementary studying hours will be useless. In conclusion, private tuition has its own pros and cons. However, I believe parents should absolutely encourage their children to study with a tutor because it helps them to get better results at school.