It's time to ban social media. It has been shown that it has made life worse for people all over the world, from politics, to self-image, to the spread of disinformation. It's a social experiment that hasn't worked and it's time to say goodbye. To what extent, do you agree to the above statement.

It is an irrefutable fact that social media is growing at a light speed and reaching every individual's life nowadays. There is a general claim that social media should be banned because of all the negative effects it brings to society. From my personal perspective, I agree with the idea of banning social media for its impact. The following are the reasons why I hold such a perspective. Firstly, social media has a huge impact on personal mental health. For instance, with the speed of the Internet nowadays, people tend to spend multiple hours surfing the Internet on their mobile phones and computers. This has resulted in multiple cases of anxiety, depression and negative self-image among social network users, especially young people. Therefore, this makes it clear that banning social media can help improve mental health and bring back connectivity between public members. Secondly, social network platforms are hotbeds for fake news and misinformation, which can influence public opinion and personal ideals. For example, people are easily driven by a confusing title and a misleading image that leads them to click on a media post that offers nothing but some general information or an advertisement of a product. This is a result of many algorithms analysing user behaviours and the result it delivers is a society that loses trust in each other because of the fake news we encounter every day. Therefore, we should always be cautious with anything read in the media nowadays. To summarise, social media platforms are having a negative impact on both mental health and public opinion. Therefore, it is clear that the idea of banning them should be supported.