Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is true that we do not recycle enough only in the household section. The recycling regulation is the method that could increase the amount of recycling, which can force people to recycle more of their waste. Personally, I agree that the regulation is launched to improve a recycling supply chain system and establish a recycling-based society. In my view, a new recycling law would be one possible way to solve this problem. Governments could make it to improve the recycling supply chain system. Nowadays, almost householders are aware to recycle their waste by separating them into different bins. If we have a poor supply chain system to manage separated waste, all waste from homes will recycle in vain and people will not see the importance of recycling. Not only does the household section recycles their waste, but also the manufacturer could be part of this issue. The manufacturer is one of the main players who produce some waste in the household section via their product, their packaging which is made from material that can be recycled. The law can provide benefits to manufacturers to manage waste recycling. For example, the government can reduce taxes for producers, if they receive the waste that has been separated from the house for remanufacturing. That is the reason why the recycling law can improve a recycling supply chain system and will be good for recycling. Launching new recycling law does not just mean directly increasing the amount of waste on which recycle. It means establishing a recycling-based community. Perhaps, some people may not be sure whether the waste they have separated will be disposed of or not which makes them feel they don't need recycling because other sectors do not see the importance. On the other hand, if people know that the separated waste is being recycled and makes a benefit as well as being a part of solving environmental problems, they will see the importance and have more waste to be recycled. As well as if recycling can make income for manufacturers, this activity will be continued. That is the reason why the law establishes a recycling-based community because it could make an advantage to all sections of the supply chain system. Then they will do it like normal behaviour. In conclusion, the recycling law that I am proposing could improve a recycling supply chain and establishes a recycling-based civilization. Additionally, with advantages to all sections, this proposal provides a way for encouraging people to recycle their waste more.