Today's young generation is facing many problems in school and at home. What are the problems? What can parents do to help their teenage children?

Every generation, from the annals of history, has its own set of issues. The present teenagers face myriad problems both at home and in educational institutes. In this essay, I shall discuss the problems of the new generation and the role of parents in assisting their teenage scion. First and foremost, the expectation of academic performance, of children is affecting,their behaviour patterns,at the house and in school. Since there is a perceived relationship, between a good career and academic excellence, they are under a constant barrage of expectations, irrespective of their potentiality or capability. This, often leads to a mental breakdown in teenagers affecting achievements, leading to failures and subsequent trauma. Studies in India, reveal that juvenile suicide has doubled in the last decade owing to sheer peer pressure. Moreover, changing patterns of society like single parents, divorce, separation, and the nuclear family are taking a toll on the psychological health of the "new-gen". To illustrate, studies reveal students coming from separated families are more vulnerable to drug addiction. Thus, we see there are several problems which arise from expectation, competition and the nature of family. The solution can be found in guardians, proactively understanding their kids, allowing them to choose, a career of their choice and concurrently, increasing the probability of their success. For, example, pupils who chose their fields of study independently were more successful than their counterparts who were influenced by parental desire. Furthermore, the domestic atmosphere should be more restrained and considerate, which will positively influence their subsequent behaviour in school. Studies in Finland show kids from happy families performed better than those coming from a history of domestic violence. Therefore, expectation management, independence to kids and self-restraint of paternal and maternal conduct can be critical to help children realise their goals. To summarise, owing to the unique nature of growing up, there will be challenges at home and away from the aspiring generation. Resolving internal issues domestically and externally is critical for their future. However, the maturity of the guardians, their flexibility and their support can positively impact the young and the new.