In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

In recent years, due to the advancement of the medical field, people have grown their concerns about the increase of lifespan, which leads to the problem of aging populations. Therefore, the following essay will discuss the adverse effects and some potential solutions of this trend. That the longevity is rising may have some influence on two major figures, namely individuals and society. As the proportion of older people is sharply growing, this will put pressure on the younger generations. To be more specific, the senior citizens, who are vulnerable to chronic diseases such as heart attacks or diabetes, may need more special medical treatments, which leads to the fact that their children have to spend a large amount of money on healthcare service and somehow can not fully concentrate on their career. In terms of community, the climbing up of life expectancy will become a burden on governmental budgets. It is due to the fact that the authorities have to allocate an enormous resource to pay for the pensions, which will bring about the economic crisis, especially when there is a lack of working- age people, as the combination of higher pensions and lower income tax can seriously affect national funding and the whole economy. However, there are a host of measures that can be taken into consideration to deal with this issue. The government can strongly encourage older people to participate in the informal labor market so that they still have the opportunities to earn money and pay for their basic demands themselves, as these menial jobs do not require physically demanding and they are quite suitable for the elderly. Additionally, the retirement age can be extended because senior citizens may have many hands- on experience and they can considerably contribute to the economy. Besides that, the young can uphold these features and gain more practical skills from their previous generations. In conclusion, although the climbing up life expectancy in developed nations may have some negative effects, there are several approaches to tackle this problem.