It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping in the community. What are the benefits and drawback of such a requirement to the community and the young adults?

Nowadays, the young population have become selfish and careless regarding helping others. It is often argued that youthful generations should do volunteering to develop the community. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of this practice in society and youngsters. One commonly cited advantage of doing voluntary work is to prepare young people for professional life by learning essential skills and finding their vocation. Moreover, working to improve the community teaches individuals some morals and values because they face challenges that lead to improving their personal development. For instance, helping the elderly in healthcare homes rises awareness regarding this marginalised population that needs more attention and respect. In addition, this supportive behaviour helps to maintain a solid cohesion between people which leads to the construction of a promising future generations. On the other hand, doing unpaid work could disrupt students from their studies because it consumes a lot of time and distracts them from their main goal. Furthermore, physical accidents or psychological events may happen while working in dangerous sectors which could destroy the future of the person. For instance, some young girls could be sexually assaulted while trying to help improve society in isolated areas and this could lead to several repercussions on mental health because the victim will have difficulties the trust others or reintegrating into society. In conclusion, undertaking unpaid work has many benefits for the development of the community and the youngsters such as their personal fulfilment. However, some drawbacks should also be considered to adopting this idea. Volunteering should be optional and matching with personal interests.