Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many students decide to take a gap year between school and university to increase their work experience or to travel. Personally, I believe that this period can be used to mature and decide correctly which degree they want to study and at the same time to have the opportunity for doing special activities that are more difficult in an academic year. During this non-academic life, young people may think about their future, and they need to consider all available options. For example, if they have chosen the correct degree that suits their needs. In addition, they have time to mature in order to go to university as a mature pupil with a better knowledge of life and without a young mindset which may be a drawback in this context. Moreover, throughout the period people have more opportunities to do new activities that during the academic course would be impossible due to the schedule. Furthermore, the youth can destinate their time to pass the driver's licence test or to improve their job skills. This could be the first time where students face work without stress or anxiety. This first experience will be so useful when they finish their careers because they will know a lot of information about payments, contracts or job conditions. For these reasons, all of these activities will help them to mature and have clear ideas. To conclude, I believe that enjoying a gap year is an incredible way to mature, review your decisions, do some new activities and also face the first job experience and for this, I completely agree with the statement given.