Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the modern era, the population who prefer unqualified medicines and treatment has increased. In my opinion, it is a serious negative development because some of the diseases or injuries might even get worse and the whole medical system might collapse if all the patients trust the alternative medicines more. In ancient times, medical system had not completely developed, therefore, many alternative medicines such as herbal soup become the only method to tackled the disease. However, after science knowledge being highly developed, lots of researches indicate some of treatments like massage therapy are quite dangerous, they could even cause paralysed. For instance, some grandparents will bring their grandchildren who have fever to the temple and ask for some ash liquid derived from burning the religious paper then let their kids drink it instead of taking to the hospital. As a result, not only the kids will severe infected but also some unknow items might damage their health in the future. What is worse, the children might need to take more pills or get three more shoots in the hospital to recover. On the other hand, if the people lose their trust in professional medical treatments and find alternative medicines for help when they sick, the doctors and nurses will become lack of confident and start to think about why they need to study in university and hard working for a long time. Thus, less people will choose the major of doctor or nurse because in spite of they spend a lot of time on studying and internship, the patients still not believe in them and find other people such as the staff of the temple or some businessmen who sell “magic herb” to heal themselves In the end, the medical system will destoryed and none of the patients could get properly treatments and even death. In conclusion, alternative medicines will cause a serious problem and decrease the credit between patients and doctors. If the government and people do not beware on this situation, patients will suffer from terrible treatment which do not have scientists permitted. What is more, the hole medical system will collapse.