Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. With the rapid exposure of smartphones among the kids and having them wasting most of their time using it I believe that it might be a major issue. In this essay, I'm going to express why I don’t tolerate this problem completely and the reasons behind it.  Adopting a sedative lifestyle especially since childhood might have serious consequences. Take video games for instance, most of the children get too involved in their smartphones preferring to play a virtual football match rather than a real one on the pitch with others keeping them from doing sports and socialising with thier environment, which affects both of their physical and mental health. Moreover, the lack of privacy and parental control means may make them more vulnerable to a wide range of potential dangers. Considering the immature judgements and the curiosity of this chapter of their life it can make an easy way for criminals to take advantage of it. Last year for example, the blue whale game jeopardised many children around the world after they thought it would a thrilling way of having fun only to discover themselves trapped and controlled by a criminal psycho targeting them. To sum up, mobile phones as much as they look useful and productive they can be a door to unwanted conclusions. Regarding the laziness and the lack of social life it can cause without forgetting the possible risks related to such a young category of tech users. I strongly feel that it'll do more harm than good and more acts have to be taken to cut down the daily screen time limit for kids by providing other ways of entertainment.