Some people say that travelling to a country is necessary if one want s to become familiar with a new culture. Others, however, feel that technology gives us enough tools to make travel unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The phenomenon of travelling to different countries in an attempt to explore new cultures has aroused wide concern among various circles. One cannot deny that travelling can get involved in other cultures. Some feel that technological advancement can replace travelling. However, I entirely agree with the former statement. In the following paragraphs, I will explore the rationale for both beliefs as well as proffer justification for my own viewpoint. Regarding those who hold that technology provides a golden opportunity for us to learn a completely new culture, probably the most significant factor is that the internet allows us to access a wide range of information. More specifically, we can review countless pieces of data about other destinations with just a few clicks. In fact, social media platforms, such as YouTube, allow us to learn about different places. For instance, if we are interested in “Oslo, Norway '', we can type the keyword and search on YouTube, an enormous YouTuber filmed videos about Norway, ranging from food, transport and festivals to famous scenery. It is true that with the use of the internet, we can learn about different lifestyles without leaving our homes. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that travelling is vital to familiar with a new culture. The obvious reason is that it provides an opportunity for us to engage in an absolutely different culture. When an Asian visits the UK, he or she can try the local delicacy-”Fish and chips” as well as celebrate “Black Friday” this is a shining example of getting in touch with a diametrically opposed culture. Not only knowledge of other places is passed on to travellers, but also visitors can try something new which is beneficial for them. What is more, when we travel to a country, we can interact with the locals, for example, communicating with them in an attempt to enrich our knowledge, such as language, food and festivals. On the whole, individuals can open their eyes and broaden their horizons. In sum, I maintain that travelling is crucial to engage in different cultures. In the future, I sincerely wish that the crowd can travel more and get in touch with something different from our hometowns.