Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on the space exploration.

In this contemporary world, spending large amounts of money on space exploration is an inevitable topic. This essay will explain the benefits and drawbacks of the presented statement along with credible examples. First of all, it is widely believed that the money from the taxpayers that is spent on space exploration will not come to waste. This is because,with space exploration, newly discovered heavenly bodies like stars, constellations and the like will make the country famous and well-known in the field of science. Another point worth considering is the potential discovery of new renewable energy resources. No one can deny that our natural resources are depleting and finding other sources of energy will be the answer to this problem. An optimal example of this can be the space program initiated by developed countries. With their recent update, they are into the discovery of a planet that is abundant with rocks that contain minerals that can be used as a replacement for fossil fuels. Despite these benefits, there are also drawbacks to spending money on space exploration. First is the discontinuation or non-approval of other government projects. The key factor of this is the budget intended for other government projects will be lessened or will be allocated to space exploration. It is deemed that space exploration requires a vast amount of money. Thus, other projects will be set aside to give way for space exploration. Additionally, there is also the chance that the money is going to waste. This is because of the possibility that the exploration will be a failure. For example, space exploration to the moon will be a failure if the rocket itself will encounter an engine failure upon launching. The money spent on the construction of the rocket, the training undergone by the astronauts and the pieces of equipment bought for the exploration will be put to waste. In conclusion, I believe that the money taxpayers contributed to space exploration will bring benefits such as its country's recognition in the field of science and the potential discovery of resources that are crucial to the current status of the planet. However, there are also downsides to this argument such as a waste of money due to the project's failure and disapproval and discontinuation of other government projects where the intended funds are diverted to space exploration.