People think that the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinions.

As society is advancing by leaps and bounds, people attach great importance to the protection of the environment. Under this circumstance, an absolute consensus can hardly be reached as to whether the government should raise the price of petrol for transportation to solve environmental problems. While I consider that this might be an effective measure, I would argue that other measures would have a greater impact. Firstly, it is noteworthy that if the government has a sharp rise in petrol prices, people would limit the number of their cars and the length of their journeys in order to save an extra expense. For example, the government would have to upgrade and expand public transport provisions such as trains or buses, as inhabitants would still need to travel to work, to school or to travel to shopping or hospitals. Secondly, from the perspective of freight services, more items would have to be transported by rails rather than trucks. Therefore, this measure could cut down on emissions from vehicles such as private cars, motors or lorries; and help to reduce the greenhouse effect. On the other hand, while the above-mentioned method might be useful, the authority should adopt transport policies which would be more effective in the long term. For instance, the government of London has introduced a new policy called the congestion policy, which allows all vehicles to visit the city centre by paying a congestion charge. They then use that money to subsidize the cost of fares for citizens and to invest in transport infrastructure. As a result, this policy would help to improve air quality. Another measure would be to provide free-bus and free-train, this could help to reduce pollution for private vehicles and to combat global warming. In conclusion, increasing the cost of fuel would be an environmentally-friendly transport measure to solve environmental problems, although, in the long term, other methods would be more effective.