The amount of garbage produced by our cities is a big problem for governemts around the world.What are the causes of this excess waste?How can this problem be fixed?

Cities are producing more garbage than ever before and the amount is likely to double by 2025. This essay intends to study the reasons for the excess garbage and also suggest ways to tackle this global garbage crisis. The main cause of excessive garbage generation is the increasing population.More population is increasing consumption, which in turn is producing more garbage. Second,the materialistic society has augmented the demand for products which makes the producers manufacture more products.Another disturbing reason is the increase in plastic garbage which is nonbiodegradable and is filling up landfill sites. Finally, inefficient garbage disposal is leading to more garbage. The first way to deal with garbage is minimisation,which can be done through education and the adoption of improved production processes and less wasteful practices. Secondly,they should focus on the mantra of reuse.Most goods are made from nature, such as trees,minerals,oil,gas and metals.The garbage created is really a resource that is thrown away sometimes after a single use.Reusing and then recycling these goods helps limit resource users,keeps valuable goods out of landfills,and prevents pollution. Thirdly,recycling things should be done.As much as 80 per cent of everyday garbage can be recycled and given a new life when broken down and used again and again.No doubt recycling uses energy and resources,but it's much better than making things from scratch. For example,every ton of newspaper recycled saves approximately 17 to 19 trees,and over 70 per cent less energy is needed to produce aluminium from recycled cans than from new raw materials.Another important step that can be taken at a household level is composting.Composting reduces the amount of garbage going to landfills and it produces a free natural fertilizer,leading to a healthier environment. To sum up,solid garbage generation is becoming a colossal problem,but it can be dealt with it in many ways.The time has come to stop garbage before it stops us.