Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy for them. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Over a period, domestic animals have gained great importance in society and made their place in people’s hearts and houses. There are individuals who consider them good for their kids, however, few others have a different mindset and consider them unsafe and unhealthy to keep at home along with kids. I am of the same mind as the former set of individuals and explicate some logical reasons to support my view. To commence with, the trend of pets for children has increased with the increased number of nuclear families and dual-income parents. Due to their busy schedule, parents find it difficult to spend longer time with their children and they look for companions for their children in their absence. In such cases, they don’t find any better friend for their kid than a pet who offers them loyalty and unconditional love. Moreover, they indulge their kids in various physical activities like playing and going for walks, serving them food and so forth. While taking care of their pets, children often develop a sense of responsibility as well. To cite an example, I would like to mention a child in my neighbourhood, who spend more time playing with his dog and taking him for walk unlike, other children who are busy playing games over the phone. Undoubtedly, they are incredible support for the physical and mental growth of a child. On the other hand, there are some negatives associated with having pets at home. Pets play outside in the grass and mud; hence, can bring bacteria and germs inside the home. By coming in contact with them, children are more likely to suffer from allergies or fell ill as younger children do not have a well-developed immune system. Nevertheless, these tiny problems can be dealt with by maintaining a good hygiene level for our pets. For example, pets need regular cleaning, vaccination and hair cut which is an essential part of their maintenance. In a nutshell, I would say that the advantages we get for our kids by having a pet overfold the disadvantages. They not just protect them but provide great mental and physical support for their growth and the problems with keeping them at home can be handled easily by following a few simple steps.