With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Owing to the increase in the popularity of electronic books (e- books), there has been a significant fall in the prevalence of paper books. A few claim that this change is beneficial. On the contrary, some people are against it. This fashion has advantages and disadvantages, which I will substantiate in this essay while providing a logical conclusion. The rise of e- books has many positive implications. The advent of technology has eliminated the need for paper books. This directly affects the number of trees being chopped down. The increase in forests helps slow down climate change which is the biggest challenge that humanity is facing today. The detrimental effects of air pollution caused due to ever-rising usage of vehicles using fossil fuels can be controlled to some extent with plantations. Therefore, a lot of people promote the use of gadgets as a substitute for books made out of paper. On the flip side, some argue that the joy of reading physical books is lost due to a shift to the electronic medium. Simple acts of touching, turning of pages, and the smell of newly bought material is no longer the case when you read something on a tablet or laptop. This sentimental value associated with paperbacks prevents some from shifting to the electronic medium. Hence, they strongly discourage the rise of e- books. To conclude, the advantages of reading from e- books include a decline in deforestation and climate change. In contrast, the drawbacks include the loss of emotional connection that comes with the flipping of pages in one's hands. The pros outweigh the cons in this scenario, and I strongly encourage moving to electronic books as it helps in preserving the planet.