Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some say that children should be taught how to compete to achieve victory in life while others think cooperation is more important and needed as they face adulthood. This essay will argue, that although teaching youngsters to be competitive will drive them to win but encouraging them to help others is more useful that would enhance teamwork which is vital for success.  On the one hand, children that are excelling in school were taught to be studious on their ownself to achieve academic excellence. In addition, these children strive very hard to remain on top and this is one of the many reasons why they do it. These youngsters tend to compete with other children to be able to win in every competition. For example, in India, children are forced to attend a class that is very challenging at a young age because parents pressure their offspring to attain success. However, I believe that being competitive should not be inculcated in their young minds because it will cause failure instead. On the other hand, helping children learn the values of camaraderie would help them develop a sense of empathy with others. Moreover, this behaviour would not encourage jealousy which is more common among adults in the workplace. This characteristic would also help them reach their goals without a sense of rivalry with others. For instance, children who practice teamwork in their projects at school are more successful and appreciated by teachers. In conclusion, although children that are competitive have the will to win, cooperation with others is a more important lesson that they would carry in their life. Cooperation as one of the values among children is more helpful in their adult life.