Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

In rural areas, it is true that the number of young adults involved in agricultural activity nowadays is lower than in the past. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and as a result, the government should encourage them to do this task. There are two primary reasons why farming work can not engross the attention of the young. Firstly, it is due to the unsustainable nature of this sector. In fact, stability and salary are two main factors that young people will take into consideration when choosing their future careers. While farming work is principally based on unpredictable weather conditions, which means a severe storm can damage all hard effort, other jobs can help them maintain better financial stability with higher income. Furthermore, being physically demanding is the first crucial need of doing farming industry. To achieve high productivity, they have to work under extreme conditions so their health can be affected. Despite the reasons I have mentioned above, there should be more young farmers these days. Owing to the significant role of agriculture, the labour force has to be reinforced to meet the demands of the increasing population. Additionally, creativity and willingness to learn are the strong points of young adults. As they can get access to a wide range of useful knowledge and advanced technology, which can be applied to provide more effective results. For example, in VietNam, highly trained young adults can become agronomists and have considerable contributions to society. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are various causes for the young to not engage in farming work due to unstable and laborious nature, they should be motivated to work in this sector as they can bring many benefits to agriculture.